Just say thank you…and pass it on

We all seek acknowledgment and approval from people around us, especially of those who matter to us. If we didn’t, compliments – whether off-hand, casual remarks from strangers or heartfelt, appreciative comments from loved ones – wouldn’t make us feel so good.

The thing is, why is it so hard to acknowledge ourselves? It’s easy to say that we aren’t able to look at ourselves objectively, but even when it’s clear that we’ve done something good, many people seem unable to accept that we have done something worthy of praise. It could be something mundane, but if we are unable to acknowledge the value in who we are and what we do, doesn’t that then devalue us as individuals?

And if we can’t acknowledge the value of decent people/people who do good work/people who are kind and helpful to others etc then aren’t we perpetuating the depressing state of events where people are unprincipled/lazy/unkind/unhelpful?

Let’s make things better in our own little corner of the world, however small or seemingly insignificant it may be. And mull over this viewpoint, from one of my favourite books – a father, in response to his son’s anger over a neighbour’s hatred and bigotry, tells him “We can’t get rid of it but we can do our best in the opposite direction.”

Let’s try.

About Audrey

I started this blog as a way to continue writing, which I love, and to share views and topics that mean a lot to me, which range from books and movies to the environment and other societal issues. Sounds like a grand plan (at least to me) but I'm finding it easier said than done. This blog is a way for me to get my voice out there and hopefully find others who feel the same or who share the same interests I do. All too often I read about news and happenings that make me feel discouraged about what's going on in the world, and I'm thankful for all the people out there who post things about everyday life that put a smile on my face or make me think a little harder about the life I'm living. This blog, for me, is a symbol that there are people out there who also feel that there's a lot to be improved and hopefully inspire thoughts and ideas that help us cope better, and make a difference in our own little part of the world. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Living Well, Thinking Out Loud and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

