Staring at myself

I’m often paralysed by thinking too much. All too often, I get inspired and want to share it, but then I start thinking…

How should I share it? Should I write in my journal? Share it on Facebook? Blog about it? If I blog about it, how do I get it just right? How do I get my blog to read like all those other blogs that have inspired me?

The blogs I love most ooze sincerity. It doesn’t matter if they’re writing about food, or a work experience, or something they’ve read in the news. They feel strongly about what they’re sharing, so it’s not just fluff or empty words. They are sharing something they are passionate about, which somehow enriches my life by giving me a new perspective on things mundane, comical or touching.

I want to write like that.I want to have people read what I write and feel something, anything. It could be a laugh or a chuckle, a resigned sigh of agreement or a nod of approval, it doesn’t matter.

My friends might say that I do write well. But the problem is, it’s hard to see yourself as others see you. The view is just too different when you’re looking at yourself.

So I’ve gone searching in the opposite direction, scouring blogs like The Happiness Project and even going so far as to read sales self-help books like You, Inc. in an attempt to gain a different perspective of who I am and the world around me, and I’m pleasantly surprised and even a little proud of myself.

I don’t take criticism well, and I’m not a fan of step-by-step instructions – something in me rebels at the thought of it (and that includes following recipes and reading instruction manuals) – but in casting my net a little wider, a little farther than my own little sphere, I have learned some things about myself. Some of them aren’t flattering, while others are simple reminders to reinforce what I believe in, but either way I feel better for it.

A quote I saw this morning, which I posted on Facebook, was “If you can’t feed a hundred people, then just feed one.” ~ Mother Teresa

It reminded me of the advice I gave a close friend, who felt overwhelmed by all the things in his life that didn’t seem to be going right. We were only 16 then, but somehow that same wisdom came to me – you don’t need to change everything, all at once. Just change one thing, and others will follow.

Here’s to change, and the hope that I’ll see someone a little better, a little stronger, the next time I look at myself.

About Audrey

I started this blog as a way to continue writing, which I love, and to share views and topics that mean a lot to me, which range from books and movies to the environment and other societal issues. Sounds like a grand plan (at least to me) but I'm finding it easier said than done. This blog is a way for me to get my voice out there and hopefully find others who feel the same or who share the same interests I do. All too often I read about news and happenings that make me feel discouraged about what's going on in the world, and I'm thankful for all the people out there who post things about everyday life that put a smile on my face or make me think a little harder about the life I'm living. This blog, for me, is a symbol that there are people out there who also feel that there's a lot to be improved and hopefully inspire thoughts and ideas that help us cope better, and make a difference in our own little part of the world. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Thinking Out Loud and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

