Entering the World of The Big Bad Wolf

My stash after one visit to the Big Bad Wolf Sale

I love books. Of course, there are many out there like me, but it’s nice to be part of a global bibliophile community – no registration required, just BYOB (bring your own book).

For some people, their lives are measured in movies or music that played a key role in pivotal moments, which have stayed with them through years of change. I’d add books to that list.

My childhood can be measured from the Ladybird collection my parents invested in, to Enid Blyton and Greek/Roman/Norse mythology, to Nancy Drew, Alfred Hitchcock’s Three Investigators and the decades-old copies of Reader’s Digest up to my college fascination with fiction and fantasy which now range from Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl to Eddings and Feist, Arthurian myths and my current fascination with James Rollins’ Sigma Force and Michael Reilly’s ongoing series on the exploits of Jack West, Jr.

Hardly the stuff of classic literature (which I studied, and loved, in college) but they have a special place in my heart, and on my bookshelf.

Hence the recently concluded Big Bad Wolf sale – like most book sales – was an exercise in strategy, booklust and restraint. Strategy was required because there were 1.5 million books arrayed in a huge exhibition hall, and I didn’t want to miss any of it!

Booklust…need I say more?

Self-restraint was necessary for, as a former colleague very aptly said, “Space is finite” and that sadly applies to my bookshelf as well. For every book I bought, there were at least 5 more I reluctantly put down. Sigh.

Now it’s over and all that remains are the bags of books in my living room – I haven’t quite figured out a more permanent home for them yet, but I’m already looking forward to next year.

About Audrey

I started this blog as a way to continue writing, which I love, and to share views and topics that mean a lot to me, which range from books and movies to the environment and other societal issues. Sounds like a grand plan (at least to me) but I'm finding it easier said than done. This blog is a way for me to get my voice out there and hopefully find others who feel the same or who share the same interests I do. All too often I read about news and happenings that make me feel discouraged about what's going on in the world, and I'm thankful for all the people out there who post things about everyday life that put a smile on my face or make me think a little harder about the life I'm living. This blog, for me, is a symbol that there are people out there who also feel that there's a lot to be improved and hopefully inspire thoughts and ideas that help us cope better, and make a difference in our own little part of the world. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Books and Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Entering the World of The Big Bad Wolf

  1. I, too, have a love of books. They have, at times, overrun my space. Still, I can’t seem to part with them. I have an entire wall in my house devoted to their storage. I have started stacking them two deep, very frustrating when I’m looking for a particular favorite.

    Enjoy you new books.

  2. Audrey says:

    “started stacking”?? :-) Mine have been double-stacked for ages, despite the fact that my family got a huge new bookshelf just over a year ago….and after the existing bookshelf got shifted to my daughter’s room. Not only are they both filled already, they’re both double stacked too!

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

