Where does the money go?

I love summer action flicks – it’s a crazy-sometimes-silly ride that you don’t have to strain your head over or get emotionally involved with. 

However, the recent news that Ben Affleck would don the Caped Crusader’s mantle got me riled up. 

I’m not a huge comics fan – I can’t even keep it straight in my head which superhero belongs to the Marvel or DC universe – but I’m enough of a fan to have certain characters close to my heart. 

So my immediate reaction was not a good one but, prompted by an article in defence of Ben Affleck as a decent, socially responsible guy, I decided to look up which celebrities are active in philanthropy and came up with surprising results.

Obviously it’s not so clear cut as how much cash they give, or how much time but also how much passion and dedication. At the same time, it seems there are even calculations as to how much their perceived fame contributes to a cause (this one makes my head ache). On top of that, there’s the cynic in me who wonders how sincere their contributions are, so I’m glad to have read this article which answers some of my questions and addresses at least some small part of the dilemma when celebrities dabble in charity.

After that, I came upon this post on Keanu Reeves. If you ignore the OTT headline, it’s actually a nice look at (what seems to me) a really rare kind of celebrity. Over the years I’ve read posts about how he lives in a small apartment and travels by train – no entourage, no fancy sports cars etc, and wondered if they were true. The thought that a guy who makes millions can live a normal life makes me feel good, but this article goes on to show a lot more about the kind of person he is, and it’s funny how good that makes me feel. 

About Audrey

I started this blog as a way to continue writing, which I love, and to share views and topics that mean a lot to me, which range from books and movies to the environment and other societal issues. Sounds like a grand plan (at least to me) but I'm finding it easier said than done. This blog is a way for me to get my voice out there and hopefully find others who feel the same or who share the same interests I do. All too often I read about news and happenings that make me feel discouraged about what's going on in the world, and I'm thankful for all the people out there who post things about everyday life that put a smile on my face or make me think a little harder about the life I'm living. This blog, for me, is a symbol that there are people out there who also feel that there's a lot to be improved and hopefully inspire thoughts and ideas that help us cope better, and make a difference in our own little part of the world. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Books and Movies, Living Well and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

