Critical Mass

I’ve never really understood what the term ‘critical mass’ means, at least not in a technical sense. It’s something I’ve heard in movies, normally uttered by some scientist or other when something is about to blow up.

But just this morning, it occurred to me that I experience my own version of reaching ‘critical mass’, times when something builds up inside that needs an urgent release.

Sometimes it’s the stress of multiple, back-to-back or even overlapping deadlines which triggers a period of hyper-productivity (to be honest, sometimes it produces the opposite effect). Other times it’s the mess of things at home – when I get mad about the mess, it spurs me to clean with a vengeance. Or days like today, when the combined weight of a million little things left undone or half-finished feels extremely burdensome.

So I guess that’s my ‘critical mass’, the tipping point when I have to do something about whatever’s bothering me.

While it sounds like it could be a good thing, the process of reaching critical mass often isn’t pretty: 

Procrastination.

That just about sums it all up, my build-up to ‘critical mass’. And the entire time I’m becoming more and more anxious about all the things I’m not doing, which I should be doing.

After going through this experience so many times, you’d think I’d have a solution, one that cuts right through all the BS and gets straight to the end result. Unfortunately, I have yet to find that particular ‘fast forward’ button.

 

 

About Audrey

I started this blog as a way to continue writing, which I love, and to share views and topics that mean a lot to me, which range from books and movies to the environment and other societal issues. Sounds like a grand plan (at least to me) but I'm finding it easier said than done. This blog is a way for me to get my voice out there and hopefully find others who feel the same or who share the same interests I do. All too often I read about news and happenings that make me feel discouraged about what's going on in the world, and I'm thankful for all the people out there who post things about everyday life that put a smile on my face or make me think a little harder about the life I'm living. This blog, for me, is a symbol that there are people out there who also feel that there's a lot to be improved and hopefully inspire thoughts and ideas that help us cope better, and make a difference in our own little part of the world. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Making a Living, Thinking Out Loud and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Critical Mass

  1. I fancy myself a scientist, at least an amateur one, and I only think critical mass is involved in the death of a star, when its mass is so much that it collapses in on itself. Uh, yeah.

    Critical mass in terms of stress and work and the housework and children and… I know exactly what you mean. Best of luck in conquering yours, Audrey.

Leave a Reply

